Backyard Burning of Yard Debris

Backyard burning of Yard Debris

Burning is only allowed in certain parts of the Fire District during certain times of the year. Check the TVF&R Outdoor Burning Map to see if burning is allowed, when, and where. Burn restrictions change DAILY.

Hours:

Backyard burning is only allowed during specified hours each day (determined by DEQ and ODF). 

Setbacks:

Backyard burning shall not be conducted within 50 feet of any structure or other combustible material. Conditions which could cause the fire to spread within 50 feet of a structure shall be eliminated prior to ignition. 

Exception: 

The setback from structures and other combustible materials may be reduced to:

  • not less than 15 feet when burning is conducted in an approved burning appliance (such as a burn barrel).
  • not less than 25 feet when the burn pile size is 3 feet, or less, in diameter and 2 feet, or less, in height.

Oregon Fire Code section 307.5

Attendance:

Backyard burning shall be constantly attended until the fire is extinguished. Not few than one (1) portable fire extinguisher, complying with Oregon Fire Code section 906, with a minimum 4-A rating, or other approved on-site fire extinguishing equipment, such as dirt, sand, water barrel, garden hose or water truck, shall be available for immediate utilization. 

Oregon Fire Code section 307.5

Additional DEQ Information:

TVF&R does not enforce DEQ rules, however, it is very important to understand the additional DEQ rules related to backyard burning to avoid fires or other penalties. See the DEQ Fact Sheet for more information.