Requirements when Selling or Renting

Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OARs) for Smoke and Carbon Monoxide Alarms when Selling or Renting Homes.

Shutterstock - NEEDS LEGIT

Smoke Alarms

Smoke Alarms - General:

ORS 479.260Smoke alarms are required to be present at the time of sale. 
ORS 479.297Ionizing smoke alarms are required to:
  • Have the hush feature (enabling a person to silence them for not more than 15 minutes).
  • Be packaged and sold with a "long life" (10 year battery if the unit is solely battery powered. 
Note:Hardwired smoke alarm systems cannot be replaced with solely battery-operated smoke alarms. 

Exemptions from the hush feature and extended life battery requirements:
  • Photoelectric alarms (both single and hard wired)
  • Multi-purpose alarms, such as combination smoke and carbon monoxide alarm units
  • Smoke alarms specially designed for hearing impaired persons

Smoke Alarm Placement:

Smoke alarms should be installed: 
  • In accordance with the listing and manufacturer's instructions. 
  • Outside each sleeping area (recommended within 21 feet of each door*).
  • In each sleeping area if required by code at the time of construction (1997 to current).
  • On each level of dwelling unit if it is multi-level (including a basement).*
  • Where sleeping areas are widely separated (different levels or opposite ends of the dwelling unit) and/or where a single unit will not adequately service all sleeping areas. Additional units should be installed to meet the coverage requirements.

*State law mentions smoke alarms being placed just outside the sleeping area, but NFPA 72 mentions smoke alarms being placed within 21 feet of any door to a sleeping room. NFPA 72 (2022 Edition) Section 29.7.1 (1)


ORS 479.270

The landlord is responsible:
  • For supplying and installing the alarm with working batteries. 
  • For repairing or replacing the unit if it is operationally deficient.
ORS 479.275The tenant is responsible: 
  • To test the unit, at least, every six (6) months.
  • To replace batteries as needed.
  • To notify the landlord of any operating deficiencies in writing.

Landlord Tenant Laws - ORS Chapter 90

Carbon Monoxide (CO) ALARMs

CO Alarms - General:

837-047-0120 (ORS)CO alarms are required to be present at time of sale or rental.

837-047-0140 (OAR)
Carbon monoxide alarms must be:
  • Battery operated, or
  • Hardwired into the structure (with a battery back up), or 
  • Plugged into an electrical outlet (with a battery back up)

CO Alarm Placement: 

837-047-0130   (OAR)CO alarms must be:
  • Installed within each sleeping room or within 15 feet outside each bedroom door.
  • Bedrooms on separate stories in a structure require separate alarms  .
  • Installed in any enclosed common area within multi family housing if the common area is connected by a door, ductwork, or ventilation shaft to a CO source within (or attached to the structure).


837-047-0160 (OAR)              

Landlord Tenant Laws - ORS Chapter 90
The landlord must:
  • Install a properly functioning CO alarm
  • Provide working batteries (if battery powered, or has a back up battery system); and
  • Provide the new tenant with alarm testing instructions.
If the landlord receives written notice, from the tenant, of a deficiency (other than dead batteries) the landlord must repair or replace the alarm. 

A tenant must:
  • Test the unit, at least, every six (6) months
  • Replace batteries as needed
  • Notify landlord of any operating deficiencies in writing.